Morning Meditations#110: The Revolution Within

IMG_0749
Why do you do? Here is my reason.

Woof! That was a day of genuine funk. I woke yesterday with rage burning through me. Everything I did in efforts to shake it failed. I only took a little of it out on those around me, trying to check myself moment to moment. I ended up reading and reading and reading some more. The Life of Charlotte Brontë by Elizabeth Gaskell fell first, followed by Soul Music by Terry Pratchett. I have this other thing too, when I finish a book, I get the next one out and read the first few pages. Well, I prefer to read the first 10 or so pages to get me rolling. So, I replaced E. Gaskell with Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein and moved to the next Pratchett book on the shelf, Equal Rites. Me being me and yesterday being yesterday, Equal Rites almost didn’t make it to today. I stopped 25 pages short to have dinner and go to a house-warming shindig. I’ve not finished a book in one day for quite some time. Not a streak I am trying to break, but sometimes a bad day comes and one just has to bury themselves in four books to stave off the demons.

Speaking of bad shit, how bout those election posts? Mine are kind of waning at this point. Either people are cheering for Hillary or hating Trump or hating Hilary and Trump or trying to build up one of the third partiers by condemning the others. Those that will vote red are going to, blue as well, and third-party voters are locked in. For the few still obsessed with changing the world via a president, finding that most of us, the low-to-no income crowd, aren’t really concerned with presidents may come as a shocker. The politicians can stop campaigning in my opinion. We know that it’ll be a struggle no matter what. But by and large, it seems that most people are back to poolside photos, cat memes, and waiting for football to start. So, in that spirit:13012769_536241413167491_4945487965580694362_n

I still think we change the world by changing ourselves. One of the ways I attempt to change myself is with study and research. I haven’t updated my bibliography in a while and have plans to do so in the next 24-48 hours, as I have been at it all summer. Some of you have followed my research closely, and for that I am eternally grateful. For those that have not, I figured make a few author drops in this post. I expect many names you’ll know, and I hope there are more than a few you do not know. If you know every name on the list, I invite you to holler at me so that we can compare notes.

Daniel Dennett, Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, Christopher Hitchens, Daniel Kahneman, Dan Gilbert, Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, Brené Brown, V.S. Ramachandran, Jill Bolte-Taylor, Andrew Newberg, Julian Musolino, Malcom Gladwell, Max Weber, Charles Darwin, David Hume, Collin McGinn, André Comte-Sponville, John Kabat-Zinn…

I haven’t read all of these authors this year, as some are from preceding years, and I have left off some authors I have read this year. Only three of these authors mention presidents in the works I’m familiar with, yet I am changed profoundly over the last 15 months.

It starts with each mind, not at the ballot box, screen, or absentee form. Start the real revolution, the one within.

Leave a Reply

